Danish Society of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Dansk Thoraxkirurgisk Selskab (DTS)

The Danish Society of Cardiothoracic Surgery (DTS) has since 1970 existed as a specialized society and have around 120 members.


DTS supervises the education for the speciality trainees and assists the National Health Board in questions concerning the speciality. Furthermore, the society is responsible for the post graduate education.

Cardiothoracic surgery in Denmark

Cardiothoracic surgery in Denmark are concentrated at four university hospitals:
  • Aalborg University Hospital
  • Aarhus University Hospital
  • Odense University Hospital
  • Rigshospitalet in Copenhagen
The four centres have associated invasive cardiological teams at their respective hospitals. One private hospital (Varde) offers CAG and CABG.

The Board

The board of DTS consists of four members:
  • President
  • Cashier
  • Ordinary board member
  • Representative from the junior cardiothoracic association

Contact us

Feel free to contact us in case of further questions.